Pet of The Week: Xena Alexander (April 5, 2014)

 

Xena_Warrior_Princess_COLOR_by_vest

“I wanted to name her after a female superhero and Xena seemed to fit.”, Stefanie Alexander

 

Cute!

Xena Alexander

 Dog Name: Xena

Guardian’s Name:  Stefanie Alexanderimages (1)

Dog Age:  1 year & 10 Months, will be 2 in May

Dog Breed: Rottweiler

Siblings:  3 feline step sisters, and I live with my mom at Grandma and Grandpas house.

Classes attended/attending: Attended puppy kindergarten, currently attending Manners & Self Control

Sports I participate in: Running outside, chasing my sisters

Show Competitions I am in: Competing for the most attention in the house

 

Being named after a warrior princess is very fitting as the Rottweiler  ancestors were the drover’s dogs accompanying the herds the Romans brought with them when invading Europe. The controllable herding and guarding instincts were recognized by the Germans, and dogs were selectively bred for these traits.

Robust and powerful, the Rottweiler is happiest when given a job to perform. His intelligence, endurance and willingness to work make him suitable as a police dog, herder, service dog, therapy dog, obedience competitor and devoted companion. An inherent protector, the Rottweiler is self-confident and responds quietly and with a wait-and-see attitude to influences in his environment. He must be medium in size and his coat is black with rust to mahogany markings. (AKC Rottweiler Page)

Ball!

Ball!

 

my favorite things

My favorite place to sleep is:  In my mom’s bed

My favorite holiday is: The one where my mom goes to the pet store, she always comes home with a new treat or toy!

My best friend is:  My old roommate Micki

Me and Old friend Micki

Me and Old friend Micki

My favorite treat:  Peanut Butter

My favorite toy:  Kong!

My favorite television show is:  The Walking Dead, I love to bark at those things wandering around!

My favorite season of the year is:  Winter, I love to chase snow balls!

My favorite playtime activity: Tug of war, chasing bubbles

Tug rope time!

Tug rope time!

 

Ball, again!

Ball, again!

Squirrel!

Squirrel!

 

 

 

images (1)

 

                XENA… Narnia’s Pet of the Week

  1. How I picked my family: I crawled into my mom’s lap and would not let any of my brothers or sisters up, then could not stop kissing her face.
  2. When I grow up I want to be:  Grow up?  Hah, I will always be a puppy at heart
  3. My nickname is:  Z, Donkey, Dog Face, Z Girl…  I have many nick names
  4. I look really cute when I:  Want something from my mom
  5. The biggest mess I ever made was:  I was just playing outside in the mud with my roommate, I was so proud of how dirty I got I wanted to go inside and show everyone in the house.  My mom didn’t like that very much…

    Muddy dog!

    Muddy dog!

  6. The first thing I ate that I wasn’t supposed to:  I didn’t know there were things I’m not supposed to eat!  But I sure did enjoy my Grandma’s lasagna once, she even left it out on the table and everything for me before she walked away!
  7. The one time I was a hero was:  When I picked my family
  8. The reason I love coming to Narnia for classes is:  I get to meet so many new people!!
  9. I am really good at:  My Chewbacca impression
  10. I am sometimes afraid of:  The hairdryer
  11. The one thing I can’t resist is:  Getting a good belly rub
  12. I think my siblings are:  My family is great, I love each and every one of them.  I like my step sisters until they swat me in the face and run away..

    Christmas!

    Christmas!

  13. My toughest challenge so far has been:  Learning to “drop it”
  14. If I spoke my voice would sound just like  Milla Jovovich and the first thing I would say is: “Why do you have so many names for me?!”

 

Snow Dog!

Snow Dog!

peqycorto....lindo

we are family

Please share something that you learned from your dog and what they have meant to your family.

I have re-learned the joys of owning a dog.  We had a family dog when I was growing up, and after having to put him down due to old age, I was not sure about getting another dog for awhile.  But then I realized how much I love them and along came Xena.  She is not only my pet, but a companion as well.

What is the most important point you learned about your relationship with your dog did you learn from your class time at Narnia?

I learned that I just have to have patience with her, and that we make a pretty good team.

What is it about their particular breed that you are fond of?

One thing that I love about Rotties is their faces and the expressions that they can make.  Also, I like how loving they are, and that they are sometimes a big klutz.

My puppy days!

My puppy days!

WHAT ARE THEY LIKE?

​No one told him that he’s not a toy breed, so at some point he’s going to plop onto your lap for a cuddle. Because of his original job as a super-smart and confident guardian, though, you’ll need to put in the time to train him and teach him solid social skills and harness his natural territorial instincts in a positive way. He has to know that you’re in charge, even if he is twice your size. Your hard work will be rewarded with a loyal, loving best friend. (AKC WOOFipedia)

 

Thank you to Xena and Stephanie for their participation in this weeks interview, we wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

 

We love hearing from our clients, friends, associates and future clients. Please feel free to share your thoughts with us.

