Pet of the Week: Penny Wilkison (May 4, 2013)

This weeks Pet of the Week is Penny, Penny, Penny Wilkison, okay truth be told she’s Penny Wilkison, a 10 month old Australian Cattle dog, her guardian is Megan Wilkison; as far as I know Dr. Sheldon Cooper (The Big Bang Theory) is NOT her apartment complex neighbor.

Her trainer Bev Oliver at Narnia noted how Megan and Penny returned to Beginner’s Obedience class each week with homework in hand, check marked and notations made.  Megan showed a serious and efficient means to undertaking the training the sessions to benefit Penny to the highest degree.  Her efforts paid off as Penny made strides in her training and the Narnia staff took notice choosing her as the Pet of the Week.

Lion: This is baby lion, Penny’s beloved toy.  I took this picture late at night when she was in my bed and she was not thrilled to have me taking pictures of her.

Lion: This is baby lion, Penny’s beloved toy. I took this picture late at night when she was in my bed and she was not thrilled to have me taking pictures of her.

♥15 Questions with the Pet of the Week, Penny Wilkinson♥

1.    How I picked my family:  I was at the West Suburban Humane Society for a couple months and when my future mom came to visit, she gave me lots of treats and played fetch with me.  As soon as she threw the ball and chased me around the yard, I knew she was the one!

Hiding: For some reason, Penny loves to crawl under pillows.  I was attempting to make my bed and had thrown my pillows in the middle of my bed and when I turned around, Penny had already crawled underneath them.

Hiding: For some reason, Penny loves to crawl under pillows. I was attempting to make my bed and had thrown my pillows in the middle of my bed and when I turned around, Penny had already crawled underneath them.

2.   When I grow up I want to: I would love to compete in Frisbee or diving.  Frisbee is my favorite game in the whole world.  If I am not able to travel the world competing in sports, I will settle for competitive eating contests- preferably Nathan’s Hot Dog Eating Contest, but I would settle for pretty much any type of food.

First Day: This is the very first picture I took of Penny on the day that we picked her up the hospital following her surgery.  She was such a trooper on the ride home and quickly bonded with everyone in the family that night.

First Day: This is the very first picture I took of Penny on the day that we picked her up at the hospital following her surgery. She was such a trooper on the ride home and quickly bonded with everyone in the family that night.

3.    If you asked my family they would say I am: full of energy.  I am always running around the house or doing laps in the backyard.

4.    My nickname is: Pen, PenPen, Goob, Goober, Penny Boo Boo

5.    I look really cute when I: am begging for a treat.  I will pull out all of my tricks to do whatever I can to get a snack.

Sleeping: This is rare photo of Penny sleeping

Sleeping: This is rare photo of Penny sleeping

6.   The biggest mess I ever made was: My grandma was cleaning up and gave me some cardboard boxes to play with.  It only took me seconds to rip them all to shreds!

Or, There was a big rainstorm that left lots of puddles in the backyard and I was quite amused to jump in them and make some big splashes.  But I did not enjoy the paw soaking to clean my feet afterwards.  Getting clean is no fun!

7.   The first thing I ate that I wasn’t supposed to: my first toy that I got from my mom on the way home from the hospital, Dino the Dinosaur….my mom wasn’t too happy about that (good thing she bought me another one!)

Dino: This is when Penny was discovered after she destroyed her very first toy and love, Dino the Dinosaur.  We would leave it in her cage with her at nights, but after this incident, only non-edible bones are allowed in her cage.

Dino: This is when Penny was discovered after she destroyed her very first toy and love, Dino the Dinosaur. We would leave it in her cage with her at nights, but after this incident, only non-edible bones are allowed in her cage.

8.    The one time I was a hero was:  when I chase the birds out of the yard.  Those birds take over the yard when I am inside, but as soon as I get out; I make sure to chase them away.

9.     The reason I love coming to Narnia for classes is: All of the yummy food I get!  I have fooled my teachers- I found that if I lie down quietly and wag my tail, they will come up to me and give me a treat!

People watching: Since we have brought her home, Penny enjoys sitting on the front stoop and watch the neighborhood.

People watching: Since we have brought her home, Penny enjoys sitting on the front stoop to watch the neighborhood.

10.   I am really good at: running away from my mom when it is nap time, talking (or as my mom says ‘barking’), eating, find the squeakers in toys, spying on people through the front window, jumping, the ability to destroy new toys within minutes (my record is 11 seconds, thank you very much), cuddling (but only when I am tired, otherwise- don’t touch me!), digging holes in the backyard, pulling branches off of the bushes, helping feed lettuce to my cousin OX, and melting people’s hearts with my cuteness

11.    I am sometimes afraid of: the vacuum cleaner.  I haven’t decided how I feel about it.  The noise doesn’t bother me, but I don’t understand why they move it around the floor.  Sometimes I bark and chase it, other times I might cower.

12.   The one thing I can’t resist is:  all of the fun things that are in my back yard like rocks, sticks, grass, bugs and chasing birds.

Frisbee: This is how Penny will drop the frisbee for you to throw.  We painstakingly taught her to drop the frisbee so we were able get it away from her mouth (or I like to say her ‘jaws of life’, because she does not like to give up her toys!)

Frisbee: This is how Penny will drop the Frisbee for you to throw. We painstakingly taught her to drop the Frisbee so we were able get it away from her mouth (or I like to say her ‘jaws of life’, because she does not like to give up her toys!)

13.   My toughest challenge so far has been: trying to control myself when I get tired.  I don’t want to admit defeat and take a nap!

Feeding Ox: Penny loves to help Grandma feed her cousin, OX (who is a bearded dragon).  She will look on as Grandma gives OX his daily lettuce.

Feeding Ox: Penny loves to help Grandma feed her cousin, OX (who is a bearded dragon). She will look on as Grandma gives OX his daily lettuce.

14.   If I spoke my voice would sound like an Aussie and the first thing I would say is: I’m hungry, can I eat now?

15.   Sports I participate in:    Loves to play Frisbee (if Penny could, she would spend her entire day outside playing Frisbee), enjoys playing football in the house on rainy days, leaves a tennis ball in multiple rooms around the house so there is always a reason to play tennis, enjoys going on walks and is trying to learn how to run with her mom.

15.   Classes attended/attending:    Beginning Obedience

images

My favorite place to sleep is: NO SLEEP! I love to be awake all day every day! NO NAPS PLEASE!  If I get really tired at night or on the weekend, my mommy will let me snuggle with her on her bed.

My favorite holiday is: Groundhog Day.  I love to see and play with other animals, so I love any holiday that celebrates animals.  I also hope that he would see his shadow so I can enjoy more snow!  I also enjoy Christmas.  Mom let me open all of my presents and I enjoyed the wrapping paper more than the presents themselves!

My best friend is:  my Uncle Jonathan.  I don’t get see him as often as I would like, but when he comes to visit, it is non-stop playtime!  And he is much better at throwing the Frisbee than my mom is…

On the run: Penny and her amazing skills during our endless rounds of frisbee.

On the run: Penny and her amazing skills during our endless rounds of frisbee.

My favorite treat: is anything that I can get my paws on!  I love my bacon training treats and yummy, yummy hot dogs (Mom says I can only have them when we are training).  I also enjoy a good stick once in a while

My favorite toy: that’s a tough question.  It really depends on my mood, but my go to toy is my baby lion, which my mom calls my binky, because it is always in my mouth.  When my baby lion has to go to the hospital for stitches (thanks mom!), I am also fond of my football or bones.

My favorite television show is:  My grandma and I love watching Duck Dynasty on Wednesday nights.  On Saturday mornings, my mom and I enjoy waking up to Dogs 101.

My favorite season of the year is: I’ve only been with my mom for 1 season thus far, but I enjoy all types of weather.  I loved playing in, rolling around, and eating all the snow.  I also enjoy a good rainstorm and getting all muddy.

Snow: Once I showed Penny that she could eat the snow, she literally would walk with her mouth open on the ground to gobble up as much snow as she could.

Snow: Once I showed Penny that she could eat the snow, she literally would walk with her mouth open on the ground to gobble up as much snow as she could.

My favorite trip was when we went to:  I like taking trips to the toy store.  Mom lets me look at the birds and then pick out my own toys.  There are so many good smells and I seem to run into my best friends around every corner (Mom’s edit: Penny thinks every stranger was put on Earth to see her, so when she meets a new person she acts like it is her long lost best friend).

My favorite quote is: ‘That’ll do pig.  That’ll do.’ -Babe

My favorite playtime activity: Fetch.  No matter the toy of my choosing, I love to run up and down the hallway.  If Mom can tolerate the weather, we will go outside and play my favorite game of Frisbee.

My favorite canine book is: ‘The Puppy Who Lost His Way’ by Chrissy Taylor

My favorite canine movie is: Babe.  Since I am a herding dog, I love to watch Babe and get some good pointers from that cute pig!

images

Please share something that you learned from your dog and what they have meant to your family.

Patience.  Lots and lots of Patience.  I thought I had a decent amount of patience before, but it has been a long slow process of trying to control Penny’s puppy behavior.  She is doing so much better by attending beginning obedience.  It is a lot of hard work for the both of us, but at the end of the day, I love nothing more than cuddling up with her.  This is the first dog that I have had of my own and it has brought so much joy not only to me but my other family members.

If the dog is a rescue/shelter dog, please share any of his/her past story.

We don’t know much about Penny’s history.  We know that she was sent to West Suburban Humane Society with her brother, when she was only about 6 weeks old from animal control.  She then spent the next couple of months at the WSHS until we adopted her in November 2012.

Why the dog’s name was chosen:

I initially wanted a name that ended in ‘y’ and then when I found out that she was an Australian Cattle Dog, I began looking up Australian names.  Penny happens to be a popular Australian name and ends in ‘y’.  It just seemed like the perfect fit and stuck since day 1.

What is the most important point you learned about your relationship with your dog did you learn from your class time at Narnia?

When I got Penny, she was 5 months old and was a lot more work than I anticipated.  I thought she would be a hopeless case with the biting, jumping, and the general urge to ignore anything that I said to her.  I was shocked when she quickly excelled at Narnia.  After just the first class, Penny responded amazing to the training and eagerness to learn.  I am excited to see how she grows into an adult and what the future holds for us.

Thank you to Megan and Penny Wilkison for participating in this weeks interview.  

534635_10151525498676562_1602943907_n

help-endpetcancer-1         May 1- May 31- 2013 is PET CANCER AWARENESS MONTH

help-endpetcancer

Watch. Share. Save Lives.

Millions of pets will develop cancer during their lifetimes. An estimated 50 percent of pets will die of this disease, and often the causes are unknown. Morris Animal Foundation and Blue Buffalo have partnered to end this disease and give hope to animals and those who love them.

In honor of Pet Cancer Awareness Month in May, Blue Buffalo will donate $1 to Morris Animal Foundation for every person who pledges and watches our video —up to $25,000.

That’s right, 1 “PLEDGE” = $1, so make it viral.

Morris Animal Foundation will use this generous donation to help fund critical research into preventing, treating and curing cancer and other diseases in pets and wildlife. Over our history, we’ve already invested nearly $14 million in cancer research for animals. Those studies have led to better diagnostics and treatments, but we can’t stop funding cancer research until cancer stops taking the lives of the pets we all love.

Please join us and take the pledge to watch the video and then share it with others who love animals. Together, we can #endpetcancer and create a brighter, cancer-free future for animals.

Click on the link below to be directed to the CAUSES page to log your view to help raise funds for cancer research through the Morris Foundation.

http://www.causes.com/EndPetCancer

3 responses to “Pet of the Week: Penny Wilkison (May 4, 2013)

  1. Pingback: Pet of The Week: Sheldon Collins Dornak (March 22, 2014) | Narnia Pet Behavior and Training Chronicles

  2. Penny, penny, penny, sounds like a smart dog and looks cute too. I like her hiding in the bed. My dog does that too.

  3. Way to be patient Penny! Its not easy picking your forever family. Keep up the great work Megan , and Penny!

We love hearing from our clients, friends, associates and future clients. Please feel free to share your thoughts with us.

